The Music of Glen Deven Ranch

January 3, 2014 § Leave a comment

I’m walking now. Well not right this minute but I’m walking each day for exercise. Actually I’m not even walking daily yet, I have only made it one night so far in what I hope becomes a daily ritual.

I need to exercise. I’m 35 and I hate running. I actually got into running for a few months last year and then my left foot caught a case of plantar fasciitis, twice, and I gave up running. Also I didn’t want to become one of those marathon junkies that talk about running constantly. I should apologize to anyone reading this who fits that profile but even they would admit they talk about running too much.

I live a very sedentary life. I sit behind a desk in a cubicle 8+ hours a day then I get home and sit down for dinner then sit down to read or watch tv then I lie down to go to bed. The only time that changes is when I meet a friend for a drink after work where I end up sitting at a bar instead.

One night, while being completely sedentary at home, I clicked on this list from Mark Saleski of the best jazz releases of 2013. I decided to look up each release in Spotify and listen to the first song of each album.

I immediately fell in love with this track, The Music of Glen Deven Ranch by Bill Frisell from his 2013 album, Big Sur:

I’ll admit I was not aware of Bill’s previous work but after some digging around I think I found a new favorite.

Also, for giggles, here’s a video of Bill playing with Nels Cline in 2010 – total improv baby:

I saw Nels Cline perform years ago with Mike Watt but that’s worth a post of it’s own sometime…

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Music of Glen Deven Ranch at Aaron Hartley.

meta

