On My Way To Absence

January 2, 2014 § Leave a comment

Today is my first back in the office after a two week holiday vacation. It’s one of the hardest days of the year which seems totally irresponsible to say considering I have been on vacation for two weeks. Today is always greeted with a sense of dread and that feeling of regret for not using my time off in a more productive way.

It doesn’t help to have a rainy/snowy morning drive into work. I keep thinking today is Monday just because it’s our first day back but in reality it’s actually Thursday. After tomorrow the weekend will be here so I should stop complaining.

The first few hours back are spent sorting through emails and trying to figure out where I left certain things before the break. Then I’ll begin lining up all 2014 projects, a few of which are very exciting.

One email I had waiting for me this morning was from Spotify telling me that Damien Jurado’s 2005 album, On My Way To Absence, was now available to listen to.

Turns out this is the perfect soundtrack for getting back to work after a two week vacation on a wet and cold Thursday morning.

I have to admit that I took a break from Damien’s work between I Break Chairs and Saint Bartlett so I was happy to see this album reappear.

Lion Tamer:

Damien has a new album out on January 21st called Brothers and Sisters of the Eternal Son which I have pre-ordered and can’t wait for it to arrive:

I have ignored getting back to work enough…on to it…happy 2014.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On My Way To Absence at Aaron Hartley.

meta

