1994 Lollapalooza Line Up Video Playlist

July 26, 2013 § Leave a comment

Lollapalooza will be taking place in Chicago this weekend and here is my nostalgic look back at the acts who performed over 43 dates back in 1994.

Most every song below was released during 1994 with a couple exceptions. At the end of this post is a Spotify playlist of all songs.

Keep in mind that Nirvana was supposed to headline the festival with the Smashing Pumpkins and Beastie Boys but they canceled on April 17th…the next day Kurt Cobain was found dead in Seattle.

Smashing Pumpkins – Frail And Bedazzled

1994 was an interesting year for the Smashing Pumpkins…they broke into the mainstream in 1993 with the release of Siamese Dream and would see that success continue in 1995 when they released Melon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. So 1994 was a bit of an off year for them in terms of music releases except for the B-side collection Pisces Iscariot which is highlighted here with Frail And Bedazzled, a song title that seems to sum up Billy Corgan’s life perfectly.

Beastie Boys – Get It Together

My favorite Beastie Boys album is Check Your Head but Ill Communication comes in a very close second. Yes, I am aware of their first two releases but I feel like these albums established their career as a legendary music act, not just a one (or two) hit wonder. Remember how the Ill Communication cassette tape release was green? Get It Together is one of my favorite tracks from this album and it won’t be the last time Q-Tip makes an appearance here.

George Clinton – If Anybody Gets Funked Up (It’s Gonna Be You)

From what I can tell this song was actually released in 1996 on the album The Awesome Power Of A Fully-Operational Mothership. George Clinton and P-Funk always reminds me of the movie PCU, released in 1994, starring Jeremy Piven and Jon Favreau. There, I said it and feel better.

The Breeders – Divine Hammer

The Breeders were hot off 1993’s release of Last Splash which easily secured them a slot on the 1994 Lollapalooza. This video is directed by Spike Jonze and Kim Gordon and the track peaked at #28 on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart.

A Tribe Called Quest – Award Tour

This track is from 1993’s Midnight Marauders and is actually their highest charting single which surprises me because I’ve always been a huge fan of their debut album The Low End Theory and assumed one of those tracks would have charted higher.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Wide Lovely Eyes

Disclaimer: I should have picked a track from Let Love In, I know this, but I fell in love with this track, Wide Lovely Eyes, from Nick’s album  Push The Sky Away released this February,and decided to run with it instead.

L7 – Can I Run

L7 were one of those bands you felt like you were supposed to like but never really did? Can I Run is from Hungry For Stink which was released during their tour on Lollapalooza (excellent timing).

Green Day – Chump

Dookie was released on February 1st, 1994. It sold over 20 million copies. Chump is one of those songs that’s lost in the middle of this record but still remains one of my favorites.

Flaming Lips – Pilot Can At The Queer Of God

This band will never go away and the music business is better for it. Pilot… is from Transmissions From The Satellite Heart which is known mostly for She Don’t Use Jelly but I couldn’t help pick this track instead.

Guided By Voices – Queen of Cans and Jars

Bee Thousand was released in June of 1994, taking only 3 hours to record, each song taking only an half an hour. Efficient.

Lambchop – I Will Drive Slowly

Living in Nashville means I’m very familiar with Lambchop, but I forgot just how far back their career extended and was pleasantly surprised to see them on the 1994 Lollapalooza line up. This song is from their ’94 album, I Hope You’re Sitting Down. One of Nashville’s finest.

Stereolab – Ping Pong

From their album Mars Audiac Quintet, Stereolab brought the lounge meets Nico from London.

The Pharcyde – Passin’ Me By

At this point I’m impressed with the amount of hip hop contained on the ’94 Lollapalooza stages. This track is from Bizarre Ride II and probably The Pharcyde’s best known hit.  The song samples Summer In The City by Quincy Jones.

Luscious Jackson – Here

Every time this song pops up on my playlist I think “Am I listening to Jamiroquai or Deee-Lite?” – I have to admit I was never a huge fan of Luscious Jackson but they were signed to the Beastie Boys’ Grand Royal label which I was a huge fan of. My music business experience can’t help but wonder…if the CEO’s of your record label are headlining Lollapalooza if that in turn helps you land a spot too?

Shonen Knife – Top Of The World

I picked a song from the If I Were A Carpenter tribute album released in 1994. I love this song…it’s so catchy and they are obviously having issues singing words like “world” and it’s just so endearing. I had no idea that Shonen Knife opened for Nirvana’s 1991 UK tour.

Cypress Hill – Hits From The Bong

Obviously the first thing you’ll notice here is the sample of Son of a Preacher Man by Dusty Springfield…but did you know this album debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 and eventually sold almost 4 million copies? I’ll stay away from any Insane in the Brain puns.

The Black Crowes – Thorn In My Pride

Look at the entire Lollapalooza line up that year and the one group that stands out to me is The Black Crowes. Everything else was either “alternative”, hip hop or a mix of the two. And yet, here’s this southern rock blues band from Atlanta who released a #1 album in 1992, The Southern Harmony and Music Companion. I miss bands like this in 2013 and having them on this playlist had me digging back through their catalog. The first CD anyone ever gave me was Hard To Handle and I returned it to a Turtle’s Music store for something else and then weeks later went back and purchased it again.

Spotify Playlist:

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 1994 Lollapalooza Line Up Video Playlist at Aaron Hartley.

meta

